What's the difference between "Turn-based strategy" and "Turn-based tactics"?

j3325071

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By j3325071
Member since 2016 • 17 Posts

Hi all, title says it all: what is the difference between a "Turn-based strategy" game and a "Turn-based tactics" game?

I already know how "real-time strategy" (Like starcraft, red alert and AoE) and "real-time tactics" (Like S.W.I.N.E and company of heroes) differ: RTT is basically RTS without base-building, unit-production and resources gathering, also some RTS games may contain few missions that resemble RTT style.

However I'm new to the turn-based war games and still can't tell the difference between an TBS and TBT.

In some discussions I see online ,or in Wikipedia, a specific game is given as an example of TBS in one place and as a TBT in another, meaning that -at least to me- the line between TBS and TBT is more blurry than the one between RTS and RTT.

The only thing I gathered -which could be wrong- is that TBS usually has "bigger/larger scale" than TBT, just as RTS is more robust than RTT. Are there other differences that I missed?

Thanks to whoever could clear up the difference.

mrbojangles25

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

#2  Edited By mrbojangles25
Member since 2005 • 58375 Posts

Turn-based strategy is on a larger scale; you're usually commanding armies, building nations, and otherwise playing god or president or supreme leader. Maps tend to scale more towards the size of entire countries or even the world/galaxy/etc.

Some TBS games are:

• Civilization series
  • Total War series (at least on the campaign map)
  • Age of Wonders series
  • Endless Space, Endless Legend

Turn-based tactics tend to happen on a smaller scale; you're often commanding squads of soldiers or small amount of units. Battles tend to take place on battlefield maps, not regional or larger maps.

Some TBT games are:

• XCOM
  • Gears Tactics