Gwen Frey, creator of upcoming puzzle game Kine, explains how she was 'saved by an Epic exclusivity deal'

Vaeh

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Vaeh
Member since 2016 • 957 Posts

Gwen Frey responded this tweet (claiming that no struggling indie developers have taken an Epic exclusivity deal).

Also, Epic has given away millions of dollars in grants to smaller/experimental devs over the years, and continues to do so! They sponsor all sorts of industry events, conferences, and meetups! I find them to be one of the most philanthropic companies in this industry!

For reference, here is what Kine looked like when I was a solo dev. I made this game and cut together this trailer myself. I'm proud of it, but it was a massive amount of work for one person, and I didn't have funds to work too much longer on it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-h4XRRwgDM

I kept working for months after that, and pitched to Epic! I got the exclusivity deal, had time/space to work on my game longer & hired a few contract artists. Now Kine looks like this: -- https://twitter.com/direGoldfish/status/1128989211581931520

Continues explaining how Epic helped her -- Here:

Kine is a niche game that is hard to market - Kotaku was never going to cover Kine. IGN was never going to cover Kine. That's just reality! I was a solo dev making a narrative puzzle game. In spite of this Epic has done an excellent job promoting my work.

If Epic wanted they could have announced Kine back when I signed with them (Jan). They could have said "Hey, look at this female solo indie dev we're supporting! Aren't we great!" It would have been excellent pr for them in a difficult time. But that would be bad for the game.