Q: Computer Wont Power Up. I'm an Amateur and Need Some Help.

JcBoyCool

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 JcBoyCool
Member since 2004 • 265 Posts

https://www.newegg.com/cyberpowerpc-gamer-xtreme-s780/p/N82E16883230227?Item=N82E16883230227

I bought that computer a few years ago and it has worked great the whole time. However the other day it randomly turned off on it's own. When I went to power it up nothing happened. It seemed like it was getting power for a split second because my LEDs would go on but immediately turned off.

I assumed it was the PSU so I took it out and put another one in and I got the same reaction from my computer. It got power for a split second then stopped working. My research has led me to believe the problem is the motherboard but I am very much an amateur and would greatly benefit from some help here.

If the problem is in fact the motherboard please point me in the direction of a good replacement. I have been meaning to upgrade my motherboard anyways so I could run multiple video cards so if you could point me in the direction of one that allows me to upgrade to SLI I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks for any help with this problem.

osan0

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2  Edited By osan0
Member since 2004 • 17853 Posts

have you tried unplugging everything but the essentials?

so just have the CPU, 1 stick of ram (or maybe no ram, i'm not 100% on whether a mobo will turn on with no ram) and just the 24 pin and CPU power plugged in. dont have anything else conected to the mobo or the PSU.

it's possible something connected to the motherboard has died and is shorting out.

if it does turn on when everything is plugged out then it's a case of plugging everything back in one at a time until it stops working again.