Its not arguable. Games are not art. Not on the same level as movies/books.

• 90 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

TidusIsBest

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 TidusIsBest
Member since 2013 • 177 Posts
Listen, I love games. i have been playing for 15 years. I am 23 Now. Not an older generation who doesnt understand games. I probably play games more than 95 percent of the people on this site. Now that thats out of the way: It my opinion that games are not art. I love games more than anyone. I enjoy games more than movies and books, although i love those other mediums very much also. However, art is timeless. Games are not. The huge difference between movies, books, and games, is that games degrade in time in some form. Movies and books dont. Movies and books are the same quality the day they came out. With games, they degrade in some form, although in most cases, they age very badly, especially 3d games. Go back and play a lot of psone,n64, ps2 games. They are not the same quality they were on release. A lot of games are heart breaking to see how bad they are now, compared to when you were a kid. Graphics get worse. Gameplay in most cases degrades. Even the games considered the greatest of all time, their age has dminished their quality. Super Mario 64, Zelda OoT, Goldeneye....etc. They are not the mind blowing quality they were on release. It so sad that the way games work, it has to be this way. They Re based on technology, and technology becomes outdated. It does break my heart that games degrade by default. I wish this didnt happen. The sad thing is, 3d games are not timeless. They degrade in some way, shape, or form, and there is nothing they can do to stop it, as technology becomes outdated by default. 3d Games will never be 100% the same quality they were on release in the future by default. Games are not timeless, art however is. This is why games are not art. Games are my life, but its just the truth